'Final Fantasy XV’ Sends an Important Message About Toxic Masculinity

Members see less ads - sign up now for free and join the community!

• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

heartimecia

Balamb Garden Freshman
Feb 2, 2016
Florida
Hi! I was told this would be the appropriate section for this, so I apologize in advance if it isn't.

I'm a writer and current contributor to a wonderful site called FemHype, and following the Uncovered event, I wanted to write a thing about XV and its cast of only men. My goal, more than anything, was to spark a conversation on the subject of masculinity in XV and how the way in which it is being presented so far could turn out to be a really positive and great thing. I wanted to share this article with you all and perhaps we could talk about this kind of thing in the thread!

http://femhype.com/2016/04/07/final-fantasy-xv-sends-an-important-message-about-toxic-masculinity/

Thank you in advance for reading and I look forward to the conversation we could all have about this!

XvoltaireX

PSICOM Soldier
Nov 28, 2014
I can agree with some of what you're saying, and I really appreciate you bringing up the societal pressure that men must be some kind of Jar head He-man figure. Which is something I rarely ever really see feminists acknowledge. (Granted not all men are like this, most of us throw a middle finger to that standard and live our own way)

However most things of which you stated, I can't entirely get behind. Like how intimate they are with each other. That's an actual thing men in real life tend to do and have done for centuries. We call it "bromance" it's nothing new. And Ignis's behavior is not exclusive to mothers. Fathers take their children's health just as seriously. Your heart is in the right place, but you might need to reanalyze a bit.

Last edited:

dissasterrific

fal'Cie Goddess
Administrator
Site Staff
Mar 6, 2016
cosmos